New chief for Batchewana FN

July 29, 2023

Batchewana First Nation voters have elected Mark McCoy as their new chief. McCoy ousted incumbent chief Dean Sayers by more than 400 votes.

Sayers had been chief since 2006.

Batchewana First Nation also elected the following council members.

  • Agnes Bjornaa
  • Luke McCoy
  • Trevor Sayers Sr.
  • Ann Marie Tegosh
  • Gary Roach
  • Brenda Sayers
  • Carol Hermiston
  • Joseph Thomas Sayers